Upcoming Racing Events

KiteFoil GoldCup Switzerland
10 days ahead Silvaplana
Formula Kite Cork OCR
16 days ahead Kingston
Formula Kite Formula Kite Worlds
17 days ahead Burc Beach
Formula Kite Sail Townsville
30 days ahead Townsville
Formula Kite Formula Kite Europeans
33 days ahead Mielno
   All events: Formula Foil TT:R Freestyle Wave Slalom Speed
Breaking News
Subscribe to Newsletter
Print

Q&A #002: When a tack is completed

Written by Editor on . Posted in Articles

This Q&A is provided by IKA as guidance to competitors and protest committees on the application of rule 13 in kite-board racing.

 

Question

When is the tack of a kiteboard (“Formula Kite” class) completed?

Answer

The tack is completed (i.e. she ceases to be keep clear under rule 13) when she reaches a close-hauled course after going through head to wind. However, immediately after completing the tack she is subject to other rules, in particular rules 15 and 16.1.

Question

What is a close-hauled course?

Answer

A close hauled course is the course that is as close to the wind as a kiteboard can sail with advantage when sailing to windward. After a tack, a kiteboard will normally bear away below a close-hauled course to build speed, and then luff back up to a close-hauled course once she has acquired this speed. But the tack is complete, and she ceases to be subject to rule 13, when she first reaches a close-hauled course after going through head to wind.

Question

When does a kiteboard which is tacking to starboard or is becoming a leeward kiteboard after the tack, acquire right of way?

Answer

Until the kiteboard reaches a close-hauled course, she is subject to Rule 13 and required to keep clear. When she reaches a close-hauled course, if she is clear ahead or to leeward of another kiteboard, she acquires right-of-way over that kiteboard. 

However when she acquires right-of-way she is subject to rule 15 and must initially give that other kiteboard room to keep clear.

If then she continues to bear away or dive her kite to build speed, while so doing she is also subject to rule 16.1 and must give other kiteboards room to keep clear.

Question

When does Rule 15 apply?

Answer

If a kiteboard tacks in front of other kiteboards and becomes clear ahead or leeward kiteboard as a result, she breaks rule 15 if the other kiteboards cannot, from the moment she reaches a close-hauled course, thereafter keep clear of her when reacting promptly and in a seamanlike manner. The other kiteboards are not required to anticipate, or react before the tacking kiteboard reaches close-hauled. If they have to react earlier to avoid risk of contact, then the tacking kiteboard has broken rule 13 (Tacking).

A kiteboard which is acquiring right of way by tacking must give ALL other kiteboards affected by her tack room to keep clear. Therefore the “safe” distance in which a kiteboard can tack in front (or under) other kiteboards will vary with the conditions and number of kiteboards that are affected.

Question

When does Rule 16.1 apply?

Answer

If a kiteboard tacks in front of other kiteboards and becomes clear ahead or leeward kiteboard and, after she first reaches a close-hauled course thereafter dives her kite or changes her course, she is subject to rule 16.1 until she is maintaining a steady course and holding the kite in a stable position.

Version 5 - February 2014

Industry Partners

  • ozone_bw2.png
  • rrd_bw.png
  • cabinha_bw5.png
  • temavento_bw.png
  • gaastra_bw.png
  • aguera_bw5.png
  • airush_bw.png
  • f2_bw.png
  • asv_bw.png
  • northkiteboarding_bw2.png
  • nplus1.png

Sanctioned Pro Tours

  • kta_bw.png
  • pkra_bw.png
  • kte_bw2.png
  • ksplogo_bw.png

Media Partners

  • kiteforum.png
  • kiteworldmag_bw.png
  • tkbm-black.png
  • sportsfeatures_bw.png

Recognized Programs

  • race_center_banner_IKA.jpg
  • KTAkiteKidsLogo_IKA.jpg
  • kb4girlslogo150.png